The Mac Boys


“Yo Sam, I need a favor.”

Paul’s eyes started twitching, I knew he was in trouble. He is looking outside my window as if someone is watching him.

His forest green collared shirt matched his dark blue jeans and Nikes. One thing about us Mac boys, we know how to dress. We could be having the worst day but you couldn’t tell looking at our outfits.

I know my brother too well, something is wrong. What do I expect, he was a drug dealer. He was never safe in or out of the game. Right now watching him, rub his sweaty palms, something is up.

“Paul what’s wrong? I hope you aren’t still gang banging. We lost too many people.”

“Don’t you think I know that? I‘m just trying to do the right thing.”

“You said that last year, when Keith died. Paul, I’m telling you now, I refuse to bury you or visit you in jail for some bullshit.” The look he gave me after I said that, was as if I had five heads. Paul knew what I was saying was true whether he wanted to listen to me or not.

I’m not innocent, I use to be right with Paul but I changed. Once I found Jenny, that shit wasn’t my life anymore.

“You sound like mama right now. The last thing I need is a lecture ight.”

I stepped back because I refuse to have an argument while Jenny is sleep. “Paul, you got it, what do you need?”

“I need $1,500.00.”

I’m trying to hold my composure. “The hell, you need that much money for!?”

“I just need it.”

“You think I just walk around with that kind of money?”

Mama must have spoken to him recently because I got a promotion. She is always bragging about my life to Paul. I wish she would stop doing that. Paul wouldn’t have ended up going down this path if she didn’t enable him. Yeah I sold drugs for a minute, but I saved that money. On the other hand Paul, he loves that lifestyle. I was always known as the ‘good son,’ Paul felt like he couldn’t even compare.

I don’t know how we turned out so differently but we did. Pops wasn’t around but I didn’t let that affect me. We both wanted to be better than him but somehow ended up just like him. I just didn’t take that long to change.

No matter what, mama always tells me to look out for him. I just hope me giving him this money is for something good. I can’t play with this money, I have a child on the way.Jenny just won’t know at least for tonight.

“Sam, trust me.”

“Fine, stay right here.”

One of the biggest kingpins in New York was my mentor. He gave me a safe when I first started working for him. This safe, no one knows the code but me and him. That’s exactly, where I keep my gun and money. Jenny doesn’t even know I have a gun, that’s something she will never know. I take out $750, I trust Paul but then I don’t. Walking back into the living room, I see Paul is still standing by the window.

“Here is $750.00. Come to me in two days and I’ll give you the rest.”

“Thanks bro. I will pay you back.”

“I hope so.” He hugs me. We haven’t hugged since we were kids… He smells like cigarettes. I get this weird feeling but I shake it off.

He walks out the door and nods as he pushes the door to the staircase.

Closing the door I hear, “What did your brother want this time?” Jenny has her arms folded. I know she is pissed but I have to ignore her little attitude. I didn’t even hear her wobble her preggo butt into the living room.

“Nothing baby, just to talk.” I try to get her mind off of it. I don’t want to argue, so I start rubbing her shoulders and kissing her neck.

“Don’t try to butter me up.”

“I’m not, you and the baby need to get some rest.” I take her hand and we start walking towards the bedroom.

Pow Pow.

My heart jumps.

“What the hell was that?” I motion for Jenny to stay put but I can tell she is scared. There was a time when I had to run from bullets.

I run to the window. I see two guys running, someone is on the ground. The street light is shining on the person’s shirt. I can’t make out color…waitttt…its forest green. Paul!!!

“Baby call 911!!!! I think they shot Paul.”

Jenny looks so nervous, “Oh my God, I’m calling right now.”

I grab my keys off the counter and run down the steps. I just hear people screaming, I’m hoping he isn’t dead.

As I push open the door, I notice Shannon aka the neighborhood crack head. This is the first time in years, I’ve seen Shannon cry. The last time she did was when her kids died. I ran over to him and Shannon has his head in her lap. Paul looks at me and faintly smiles.

“Paul where does it hurt?” I lift up his shirt and see blood coming from his side. I take my hoodie off and try to apply pressure.

“You have people after you? Why didn’t you tell me?”

“You have Jenny and my future nephew or niece to worry about. “

I don’t move him, just watch him. I hear the ambulance. A few seconds later, two EMS workers run over to Paul. Two officers are right behind them.

I step back and let the EMS workers do their job. In the midst of this, cops start asking Paul questions.

I turn to the EMS worker, “What hospital are you taking him to?”

“Mount Sinai.”

“Okay thank you.” I turn back to Paul, “I’ll meet you there. Let me just get my cell phone.”

“I’m fine Sam.”

“Stop being stubborn, I’m coming just give me 15 minutes.”

“Okay.” As they put him on the stretcher, I walk back to the door. There’s a folded paper on the ground just where we were. I pick it up.

The paper reads, “Bursar Office: For all of your classes the cost is $1,500.00. It needs to be paid in full by September 15th.”
Confused, I watch the EMS put Paul in their truck. I realize my brother is really trying to get his life together.

No one is going to mess with his second chance. No one.
My gun is definitely, coming with me to the hospital.

—-Seymone Kelly

6 thoughts on “The Mac Boys

Leave a comment