The 2 Train


She is the type that likes going to museums, I can tell. But me on the other hand, you can find in the strip club with my homeboys. I rather have a stripper’s ass in my face than look at a sculpture. Mom dukes says that’s my problem. “You can’t find a decent girl because you always in the streets.” I know she’s right but some strippers actually only strip for their college tuition.

I would stop going to the strip club for this one girl. She sparks my interest. I always see her when I’m on my way to school. There is something about her I like, maybe it’s her style. She must work on Wall Street or something. The way she dresses confirms my theory.

I know she would be surprised if she knew I was getting my Masters. Most people are but what can I say, I’m a hood dude but I’m book smart. Mom had to raise my sister and me on her own because pops got caught out there. He is spending his life in prison for some dumb shit. I could have ended up like him but that fast life gets annoying and dried up real fast.

Mom would like ‘the 2 train girl.’ I need to find out her name.

The one time I could have gotten the chance to ask, I didn’t. I was sitting down reading my book when she came into my car. There were no seats so I politely asked her if she wanted to sit.

She looked at me surprisingly and said, “Are you sure? I see you are studying and I don’t want to disrupt.”

“Nah it’s cool, I’m a gentleman.”

We smiled at each other. I went to stand by the door as she sat down and pulled out her hot pink headphones.

I could have continued the conversation but girls don’t want a guy that ‘sweats them,’ so I left it at that.

Today is the day though. Today is the day I talk to her. I mean it’s my last week of school anyway so I probably won’t see her. I’m a little nervous because I can tell she is different. I also have a presentation to do, so I’m trying to remain cool and confident. I’m glad my professor put me in a group with people who actually care about their grades. I hate working with people who are lazy.

Mondays are always annoying, so being able to speak to her would put me at ease.

Damn, its 8:35 a.m., I should have left at 8:25.

I spray some cologne on, and rush out the door.  Spending down the block, I get to the stairs in the station I hear, “Stand clear of the closing doors please.”

Swish, I take out my metro card and swipe. I see ‘2 train girl,’ holding the door for me.

“Thank you,” as I run onto the train. This should be easy.

“No problem.”

I dig in my pocket and get a tissue to wipe my face.

Then I hear, “You look very nice today. Isn’t it too early for a date?” I look up and I catch her looking me up and down.

Is she beating me at my own game?! “Every morning I have to make sure I look good. I never know if I’m going to see you.”

She blushes. Got her.

“Ha-ha but you really look nice.” She leans in. “You smell good too, what is that Burberry?”

“Wow, good guess. How do you know?

“I’m a manager at Macys in the cologne/perfume department.”

“A girl after my own heart. I do have a date with this presentation I have to do. So I have to look my best,” I say as I wink at her.

“You’re in school? What kind of presentation?” She looked really interested.

“I graduate next semester with my Masters in Business Management. The presentation is basically about large corporations coming in and making small businesses disappear. My group and I want to create something where smaller businesses can make a profit off of larger one. For example if Walmart comes to Harlem and I’m a small business owner, I should be able to have at least one stock in Walmart, if I sell my business. So at the end of the day, I will have some money coming in.”

“Wow that’s great. My dad had a small business in Harlem but of course he sold his business. I wish I would have known more about finance but I decided to take sociology.  Now I know someone who can help huh?” She bumps her shoulder onto mine.

“You do but we don’t know each other’s name. I’m Derrick and yours.” I grab her hand and shake it.

“I’m Allison.” I laughed because that’s such a white girl name for such a black girl.

“I know, Allison. Most people double take when I say my name but it’s real.”

“Well nice to meet you Allison. Allison and Derrick, sounds cute.”

“Real cute because for a minute there, I didn’t think I would ever get this much out of you,” says Allison.

“Really? I’m a cool dude though.”

“I see. You are cool right now. I hope you stay that way.”

“I’m not only cool but I’m handsome.” She rolls her eyes but laughs. “How about this, we exchange contact information and we go out. You like museums right?” I take my wallet out and get my business card to give to her.

She takes my card and hands me hers. “Yes I like museums but I’m also down for a strip club too.”

“Word, I would have never thought.” Damn I might like this girl.

“Can’t judge a book by its cover. But this is my stop Derrick, don’t forget to text me. Oh yeah good luck on your presentation!”

As the doors close, she winks at me and walks away.

I look at the business card she gives me. Damn her real name is Allison.

Leave a comment